Advertisement

Multicenter prospective cohort study on current treatments of legg-calvé-perthes disease

Sponsored by Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children

Phase Quota
Phase N/A

Legg-Calvé-Perthes disease is a childhood hip disorder which is common enough to be a significant public health problem (affects 1 in 740 boys between ages 0—14), but uncommon enough to have a sufficient number of patients from a single institution to perform a definitive prospective study comparing the results of current treatments. The present study will establish a database of prospectively identified patients with Legg-Calvé-Perthes (LCP) Disease and collect information regarding their presentation, treatment, and outcomes in the course of receiving currently available treatments. This study seeks to compare the outcomes of current treatments in the management of three age groups (ages 6—8, 8—11, >11) of patients with Perthes disease at two- and five-year followup. For each age group, two to three common treatment regimens currently used by practicing pediatric orthopaedic surgeons will be compared. The intervention a patient receives is determined through physician preference. Physicians pick an intervention for each age group and treat each patient with the same intervention.

Study Start Date: August 2012

Estimated Completion Date: September 2023

Specialties: Internal Medicine: Epidemiology Family Medicine: Epidemiology

Interventions

  • Procedure: multiple epiphyseal drilling
  • Procedure: osteotomy

Inclusion criteria

  • Diagnosed with Legg-Calvé-Perthes disease
  • Between age 6-16
  • Patients with possible secondary femoral osteonecrosis if over the age of 11 due to trauma or corticosteroid therapy are also eligible

Exclusion criteria

  • Patients with previous surgical treatment

Study Locations And Contact Information

  • The University of Alabama at Birmingham, Birmingham Alabama
    Contact: Shawn Gilbert MD 205-975-7499 srgilbert@uabmc.edu
  • Phoenix Childrens Hospital, Phoenix Arizona
    Contact: Judson Karlen MD 602-546-1000 jkarlen@phoenixchildrens.com
  • Kaiser Permanente Hospital, Los Angeles California
    Contact: Jeffrey Kessler MD 323-783-9313 Jeffrey.I.Kessler@kp.org
  • Childrens Hospital of Los Angeles, Los Angeles California
    Contact: Paul Choi MD pchoi@chla.usc.edu
  • Childrens Hospital Colorado, Aurora Colorado
    Contact: Eduardo Novais MD 720-777-6600 Eduardo.Novais@childrenscolorado.org
  • Connecticut Childrens Medical Center, Hartford Connecticut
    Contact: Philip Mack MD 660-545-8643 pwmack60@yahoo.com
  • NemoursAlfred I duPont Hospital for Children, Wilmington Delaware
    Contact: Mihir Thacker MS DNB FCPS Ortho 302-651-4200 mthacker@nemours.org
  • Childrens National Medical Center, Washington District of Columbia
    Contact: Benjamin Martin MD 202-476-4063 bdmartin@childrensnational.org
  • Childrens Orthopaedics of Atlanta, Atlanta Georgia
    Contact: Tim Schrader MD 678-686-6816 tschrad@yahoo.com
  • Lurie Childrens Hospital of Chicago, Chicago Illinois
    Contact: Joseph Janicki MD jjanicki@luriechildrens.org
  • Childrens Hospital Boston, Boston Massachusetts
    Contact: YoungJo Kim MD MS FRCSC 617-355-7497 Young-jo.Kim@childrens.harvard.edu
  • Mayo Clinic, Rochester Minnesota
    Contact: Noelle Larson MD 507-284-2995 Larson.Noelle@mayo.edu
  • Gillette Childrens Specialty Healthcare, St. Paul Minnesota
    Contact: Jennifer Laine MD 651-578-5061 Jennifer.Laine@Gillettechildrens.com
  • New York Presbyterian Hospital Columbia Campus, New York New York
    Contact: Joshua Hyman MD 212-305-5475 jh736@columbia.edu
  • Montefiore Greene Medical Arts Pavilion, New York New York
    Contact: Eric Fornari MD 718-920-2060 efornari@montefiore.org
  • OrthoCarolina, Charlotte North Carolina
    Contact: Virginia Casey MD 704-323-2543 Virginia.Casey@orthocarolina.com
  • Cincinnati Childrens Hospital Medical Center, Cincinnati Ohio
    Contact: Charles Mehlman DO MPH 513-636-4087 Charles.Mehlman@cchmc.org
  • Nationwide Childrens Hospital, Columbus Ohio
    Contact: Kevin Klingele MD 614-722-3390 Kevin.Klingele@nationwidechildrens.org
  • Childrens Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia Pennsylvania
    Contact: Wudbhav Sankar MD 215-590-1527 sankarw@email.chop.edu
  • University of TennesseeCampbell Clinic, Germantown Tennessee
    Contact: Derek M Kelly MD 901-759-5552 dkelly@campbellclinic.com
  • Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children, Dallas Texas
    Contact: Amanda Moualeu MPH 214-559-8543 amanda.moualeu@tsrh.org
  • Texas Childrens Hospital, Houston Texas
    Contact: Scott Rosenfeld MD 832-822-3109 sbrosenf@texaschildrens.org
  • Seattle Childrens Hospital, Seattle Washington
    Contact: Klane White MD MSC 206-987-5678 klane.white@seattlechildrens.org
  • Universidade de So Paulo, São Paulo
    Contact: Roberto Guarniero MSc PhD FSBOT robertoguarniero@gmail.com
  • University of Calgary, Calgary Alberta
    Contact: Fbio FerrideBarros MD FSBOT ferridb@ucalgary.ca
  • The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto Ontario
    Contact: Andrew Howard MD FRCSC 416-813-6430 andrew.howard@sickkids.ca
  • Childrens Hospital HamburgAltona, Hamburg
    Contact: Ralf Stuecker MD 040 88908382 ralf.stuecker@kinderkrankenhaus.net
  • Kinderzentrum Mecklenburg, Schwerin
    Contact: Ludwig Meiss MD l.meiss@gmail.com
  • Kasturba Medical College KMC Manipal, Manipal Karnataka
    Contact: Hitesh Shah 0820- 2922754 hiteshshah12@gmail.com
  • Seoul National University Childrens Hospital, Seoul
    Contact: WonJoon Yoo MD yoowj@snu.ac.kr
  • Shriners Hospital for Children, Mexico City Mexico, DF
    Contact: Pablo Castaeda MD 5255 16647064 pablocastaneda@me.com
  • Oslo University Hospital, Oslo
    Contact: Ola Wiig MD PhD +4795168380 ola.wiig@gmail.com
  • Medical University of Lodz Poland, Lodz
    Contact: Marek Synder MD
  • Bristol Royal Hospital for Children, Bristol Avon
    Contact: Simon Thomas 0117 3428755 Simon.Thomas@UHBristol.nhs.uk
  • University Hospital Southampton, Southampton
    Contact: Nicholas Clarke prtho@soton.ac.uk
  • Sanjeev Madan, Sheffield South Yorkshire
  • Johns Hopkins, Baltimore Maryland
  • BC Childrens Hospital, Vancouver British Columbia
  • NYU Hospital for Joint Diseases, New York City New York
  • Shriners Hospital for Children Salt Lake City, Salt Lake City Utah
  • IWK Health Centre, Halifax Nova Scotia

Feature this Clinical Trial

Get your trial in front of 1000s of physicians and patients.
Visit ClinicalTrialsLocator.com to find out how you can feature this clinical trial.

Advertisement